2016-11-25-01-52-57-1

“Nothing was dirty with Park. Nothing could be shameful. Because Park was the sun, and that was the only way Eleanor could think to explain it.”

I must admit I picked this book up because I wanted to see what all the fuss was about. I was not expecting to love it as much as I did. Eleanor and Park is a story about two 16-year-old misfits. We follow Eleanor  who dresses in thrift store clothes and lives  in a broken/ abusive home with her four siblings, her mom and step dad. We also follow her love interest Park  who is into comics and lives in a loving home with his mom, dad and younger brother.

I found this book so charming and I fell in love with the way Eleanor and Park’s relationship developed. The story is told by both of their prospectives and you can  see how through every thing they slowly start to fall in love with each other . I really didn’t like Eleanor at the beginning because she was a bit stubborn and I didn’t understand the way she acted at times but by the end, just like Park, I  wanted to help her and keep her safe. Everything was great about this book except for the ending.

WHAT HAPPENED  ?? We go through school bullies, fights, sneaking out, a crazy step dad and so many emotions to end it with “Just three words long”

WHAT?????  I needed more, I needed them to be happy. Not just happy but happy together. I couldn’t handle it.

Rainbow Rowell can really write a great book. She truly has a way with words and makes you fall in love with these fictional characters. I cant wait to pick up another book by her!

 

