Hello my book friends. I have decided in honor of Harry Potter and The Sorcerer’s Stone being released 20 years ago I would reread the series. I have loved Harry Potter since the day I started reading it, I was 11 and was positive I  would get my letter. I was lucky enough  to experience the release of each new book and grow with the characters. When the series ended in 2007 I was lucky enough to see the movies and now with The Cursed Child  and The Fantastic Beast movie this world has never ended for me. 2017-02-14-03-11-11-1

Harry Potter has never played a spot on a broomstick. He’s never worn a cloak of invisibility, befriended a giant, or helped hatch a dragon. All Harry knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley. Harry’s room is a tiny closet at the foot of the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in 11 years.

But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to a wonderful place he never dreamed excisted. There he finds not only friends, aerial sports, and magic around every corner, but a great destiny that’s been waiting for him… if Harry can survive the encounter.

*Review/ slight spoilers/ movie comparisons

OMG I fell even more in love. I can’t belive how much I have forgotten. I will start by saying Harry’s life is far more horrible at home then I remember. The poor boy has no one to talk to, he cooks for his heartless family, is bullied by his cousin and is never shown any love. I was beyond shocked when I realized he decided to leave with a complete stranger then stay with his family. (I don’t blame him) When I was younger I didn’t really understand, I figured he left because what kid wouldn’t want to go to a world of magic.? But now I see how bad it was for him and since Hagrid was the only person that ever showed Harry any kind of kindness, he didn’t think twice about leaving.

During my reread I fell in love with Hagrid so much more, I can see how much he truly cares for Harry and his well-being. He is such a sweet guy with the birthday cake and him crying at the end. I also had forgotten how much Neville was a part of the story, he was a lot more skittish than I remember but I still love him so.

2017-02-14-03-11-09-1

Snap!!! I love the man but why did he pick on Harry so much. OK I know why, but still he is only a child and had nothing to do with the way his father treated him. Also this picture is exactly how I imagined Snap at the beginning.

I love Ron, Harry and Hermione’s friendship in the movie but in this first book you can see them working together a lot more and enjoying each others company. I feel like they all really needed each other that first year and with out each of them helping Voldemort would have gotten his evil hands on the stone.

I loved this book then and I love it now.

5/5

 

 

 

