Hello my book friends today I’ll be sharing with you my spoiler-free review on Heartless by Marissa Meyer.

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried King,  but her intentions lie elsewhere. A talented baker she wants to open up a shop and create delectable pastries. But for her mother’s such a goal is  unthinkable for a woman who could be Queen.

At a royal ball where Cath  is expected to receive the king’s marriage proposal she meets handsome and mysterious Jest. For the first time she feels the pull of true affection. At the risk of offending the king and infuriating her parents she and Jest enter into a secret courtship.

Cath  is determined to choose her own destiny. But in a land thriving with magic, madness and monsters, fate has other plans.

Heartless is a Alice in Wonderland retelling, where we follow the young future Queen of Hearts, Catherine. Going into the book I expected a horrible ending, because lets face it the Queen of Hearts that we all know is ruthless. And I should have kept reminding myself that throughout the book because I absolutely loved her. All she wanted was to be a baker, open her own bakery with her best friend and to live happily ever after with Jest. However since the King of Hearts was fond of Cath her parents had other ideas. Taking us on a crazy adventure filled with secrets, magic, monsters, love and betrayal.

I love Marissa Meyer’s interpretation of Wonderland we get to see all the craziness and magic that is Wonderland/The land of Hearts. Even old characters come back like the White Rabbit the caterpillar and the Mad Hatter. Her writing pulls you in and the characters keep you reading. There’s so much  I can talk about but I don’t want to give any spoilers but it’s amazing and I’m  super glad I read it.

If you’re a fan of The Lunar Chronicles I highly recommend Heartless.

