For twelve long years the dread fortress of Azkaban held an infamous prisoner named Sirius Black. Convicted for killing 13 people with a single curse he was said to be the heir apparent to the Dark Lord, Voldemort.

Now he has escaped living only two clues as to where he might be headed: Harry Potter’s defeat of You-Know-Who was Black’s downfall as well. And he Azkaban guards I heard black muttering in his sleep, “He’s at Hogwarts… he’s at Hogwarts.”

Harry Potter isn’t safe not even within the walls of his magical School surrounded by his friends because on top of it all there may well be a traitor in there midst.

 

Omg I love the whole Harry Potter series but I think the Prisoner of Azkaban has to be one of my favorites. I think it has to do with the fact that you can really see people truly caring for Harry, not only because he is the chosen one but because they start treating him like family. I love the way Mrs. Weasley tried to protect him from knowing about Sirius Black and his Escape.

I always get super jealous of Harry Potter’s school days, in his third year he learned  how to defeat the boggart,  had divination classes with Professor Trelawney and  learning how to perform the Patronus charm with private lessons with Professor Lupin. How Hermion managed to be top of the class even with the Time Turner is beyond me. But I guess being mugged born I to would want to know everything there is to know about the Wizarding World.

I did feel bad when Harry wasn’t allowed to go to Hogsmeade with the rest of his friends but again I thought he was very selfish for going when Fred and George gave him the Marauder’s Map. I mean he didn’t really think of the consequences and everyone was really afraid for him and what Black might do, not only to Harry but to everyone. And Harry just thought about leaving the castle and having some fun and didn’t really worry about anyone else.

Speaking of the Marauder’s Map I did like the back story to it and how Moony, Wormtail, Padfoot and Prongs we’re such good friends, and they would sneak out to the Shrinking Shack just to be with their friend. Loved that the villagers thought it was haunted but it was really Lupin the whole time.

Since this is a reread and knowing what’s going to happen after Harry finds out the truth about Sirius Black and Scabbers being Peter Pettigrew I couldn’t help but wish that the Time Turner could have been used differently or in a way that Harry could have his guilty free Godfather and live with him too.

“Your free” said Harry  “yes” said Sirius. “I’m also- I don’t know if anyone ever told you- I’m Your Godfather.”  “Ya I knew that” said Harry “Well your parents appointed me your guardian” said Sirius stiffly “if anything happened to them…” Harry waited. Did Sirius mean what he thought he meant “I’ll understand of course if you want to stay with your aunt and uncle.” Said Sirius “But will think about it once my name’s cleared if you wanted it different home”

I needed to stop and cry for a good 10 min. This was heartbreaking just knowing what is going to happen, and after the almost Dementors kiss I was a wreck. I’m happy that with the time turner Hermione and Harry were able to save both Buckbeak and Sirius  but I wish they would have been proven innocent.

LOVED IT!!!!

