I have had this book sitting on my shelf for a couple of years now, and for some reason was a bit scared to pick it up. I guess knowing that one of the main characters commits suicide and her telling you why after death was a bit odd, intriguing but also odd. I have read books like “Go Ask Alice”,  “Jay’s Journal” and countless others were I know the main character will die or kill themself but they never explain it themself. I kinda had to put myself in a different mind-set when reading it.

I will be honest, the reason I finally decided to pick this book up and read it was because of the Netflix series. I always want to read the book before watching the movie or tv show. And boy am I happy I did.

Hannah Baker’s story is a heart wrenching one. Back in high school I thought that if I wasn’t cool or didn’t have a boyfriend my life would be over. Never realizing that high school is only 4 years of your life and it gets better. I wish someone would have told that to Hannah. Throughout the whole book I wanted to jump in and tell her it would get better and would want to scream at her for not looking for more help.

Using the tapes to really tell the story was a great idea. Clay was really a great character to read because I felt like I would have reacted in the same way. If you havent read it yet please do. But be warned it is a rollercoaster of emotions and you wont stop thinking about it for a very long time. Defiantly a story that will stay with me, and a book I will recommend.

5/5

 

