Harry Potter is midway through both his training as a wizard and his coming-of-age. Harry wants to get away from the pernicious Dursleys and go to the International Quidditch Cup with Hermione, Ron and the Weasleys. He wants to dream about Cho Chang, his crush (and maybe do more than dream ) He wants to find out about the mysterious event that’s supposed to take place at Hogwarts this year, an event involving two other rival schools of magic, and a competition that hasn’t happened for hundreds of years. He wants to be a normal fourteen-year-old wizard. But unfortunately for Harry Potter he’s not normal- even by wizardly standards.

And in his case, different can be deadly.

Honestly re-reading these books are giving me all the feels. The Goblet of Fires has to be one of my favorite because you can see a major growth in the characters, and it covers topics and feelings that have not been brought up before.

So many feeling on this book that I honestly don’t know were to start. But I’ll start with the Romione jealousy moments (Romione = Ron & Hermione) I couldn’t help but have a smile on my face when Ron couldnt stop staring at Fleur Delcour,when she first walked up to their table at dinner and he mentions to Harry that she is  Veela. And Hermione snaps “Of course she isn’t, I don’t see anyone else gaping at her like an idiot” and all of Ron’s remarks when Viktor Krum was around or talking to Hermion. Just gave me all the fells just because I know what’s going to happen in the later books.  The movies really didn’t give Ron and Hermione’s relationship any justice. They are so funny around each other and there’s so much more chemistry than you see in the movies. Love them.

This book also took a very dark dark turn. Starting off we encounter our first death. Not in the book but as a reader we get to read as  poor Frank is hit by the Avada Kedavra curse.  This book had a total of 5 deaths if I remember correctly. As mentioned Frank, we also had Bertha Jordin, the spider in Mad Eye Moodys class, Barty Crouch the father and my sweet Cedric Diggory. I still cried rereading that chapter. When I was younger Cedrics death was the first death I ever read about and it has stuck with me ever since.

Besides death this book had torture, and I can’t belive I had forgotten about it. I was left with my mouth open when I was reading how Mr Roberts the campsite manager and his family were being thrown around in the air like rag dolls. And the way the Imperius curse was explained and shown by Mad Eye Moody in class is horrible. Actually proforming it on students like 😦 really. Poor spider. There was also bullying by all the girls sending owls to Hermione and putting curses on them so she would get hurt. Poor Hermione she did nothing wrong but stand by her friend and help him out when he needed her.

I said it once and I’ll say it again I love the way JK Rowling makes you feel a part of this magical world, I’m so happy to be rereading the series.

5/5

 

 

 

 

